login   |    register
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
REVIEW
Bronco Sherman T54E1 track links
c5flies
Visit this Community
California, United States
Joined: October 21, 2007
KitMaker: 3,684 posts
Armorama: 2,938 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 30, 2011 - 08:24 AM UTC
Alan McNeilly takes a look at a new set of workable track links from Bronco Models for the Sherman T54E1.

Link to Item



If you have comments or questions please post them here.

Thanks!
barkingdigger
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
ARMORAMA
#013
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: June 20, 2008
KitMaker: 3,469 posts
Armorama: 2,957 posts
Posted: Friday, September 02, 2011 - 10:59 PM UTC
Hi Alan,

Nice in-box review! I won't wait for you to do an as-built one, because the two sets I have are still only part-built after several months! Clean-up is very tedious - I can clean and assemble the teeth onto the bars at a rate of one whole sprue per hour, but only one sprue per day for sanity's sake. And gluing the pads together is extremely tricky if you want to keep them workable. The end result, however, is very nice indeed.

Some day I'll actually manage to finish a set...

Tom
AlanL
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: August 12, 2005
KitMaker: 14,487 posts
Armorama: 11,670 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 07:37 AM UTC
Hi Tom,

Thanks for that. I save my indies for winter nights and when I want a simple mudane task .

Having seen the beasts I can fully unsderstand what you are saying but they should look cool when you get them done.

I have a good system for the DML ones, just need the right motivation!!

Cheers

Al
barkingdigger
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
ARMORAMA
#013
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: June 20, 2008
KitMaker: 3,469 posts
Armorama: 2,957 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 10:07 AM UTC
Did I mention I really need a set of T54E1s with the "early" duckbills that were only offered by DML in their indy-link T48 sets? I've worked out a way to graft the DML duckbill/tooth onto the Bronco track and still keep it workable...

(Might post it up if I ever finish the whole set...)

Tom
AlanL
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: August 12, 2005
KitMaker: 14,487 posts
Armorama: 11,670 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 10:19 AM UTC
Dedication Tom.

Al
bill_c
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Joined: January 09, 2008
KitMaker: 10,329 posts
Armorama: 7,934 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 02:30 PM UTC
Nice review, Al.

Some real world experience with these: make sure you do NOT use any kind of enamel or Tamiya paints on the connector parts of the links, and be VERY careful about the amount of cement that gets on the connector parts.

In my case, I built the Sherman T-48 set, and it's been terrible: the Tamiya black I used to undercoat the connector links caused the plastic to weaken, and the sets fell apart after painting when I tried to apply them to the vehicle. I've been pasting links in-line since.

I will try another set of these and use an acrylic black shading coat.
KurtLaughlin
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
Joined: January 18, 2003
KitMaker: 2,165 posts
Armorama: 2,140 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 02:45 PM UTC
Bill, did you paint them before cluing?

KL
Holger
Visit this Community
Russia
Joined: June 20, 2011
KitMaker: 13 posts
Armorama: 13 posts
Posted: Saturday, September 03, 2011 - 03:49 PM UTC
Hello!
I'm collecting a set of tracks T54E1. Very satisfied.
Of course accuracy is needed, the work tedious. But the result is worth it!



It is more convenient to collect the details are not as stated in the instructions.
Another alternative suggested by Terry Ashley convenient.
The trouble is that 79 tracks is not enough to collect the track chain of sufficient length.
In my Tasca Sherman is such a number is not enough. Need 81-83 track.
bill_c
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Joined: January 09, 2008
KitMaker: 10,329 posts
Armorama: 7,934 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 04, 2011 - 09:27 AM UTC
Yes, Kurt, I painted before gluing. I would suggest using an acrylic in either case, as the solvents cut into the plastic with Tamiya or others.

Alexandr, I have plenty of links left over, so that has not been an issue.
KurtLaughlin
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
Joined: January 18, 2003
KitMaker: 2,165 posts
Armorama: 2,140 posts
Posted: Sunday, September 04, 2011 - 12:38 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Yes, Kurt, I painted before gluing. I would suggest using an acrylic in either case, as the solvents cut into the plastic with Tamiya or others.



So do you think it was an issue of the plastic disintegrating or the cement not penetrating the paint and the parts just coming apart?

KL
AlanL
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: August 12, 2005
KitMaker: 14,487 posts
Armorama: 11,670 posts
Posted: Monday, September 05, 2011 - 03:59 AM UTC
Hi Bill,

You'd need to build then paint with this set otherwise the paint will interfer with the glue, had that experience

Al
bill_c
Staff MemberCampaigns Administrator
MODEL SHIPWRIGHTS
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Joined: January 09, 2008
KitMaker: 10,329 posts
Armorama: 7,934 posts
Posted: Monday, September 05, 2011 - 06:47 AM UTC
Kurt, the solvents in the Tamiya flat black I used for pre-shading definitely ate away at the plastic.

Al, you're right, and I wouldn't paint them the next time. Live and learn.