login   |    register
Campaigns: Completed Campaigns
Campaigns that are completed should be grouped here.
Hosted by Richard S.
TAKOM - Campaign
deerstalker36
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: May 16, 2010
KitMaker: 208 posts
Armorama: 194 posts
Posted: Sunday, August 13, 2017 - 05:33 PM UTC
Slow progress down at the Zsu



Turret internals finally done



i hate doing individual track links (and i think i noticed one set the wrong way round)
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2005
KitMaker: 2,954 posts
Armorama: 2,773 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 02:14 AM UTC
Nice work so far Colin. You have the Drive sprockets facing the same way in the pic, but yes, even when you flip one over, one track will be backward. Try heating the track in hot water or carefully applied heat from a hair dryer and tease the links into place to the correct shape and aspect. It may take a while, take it slow and you may recover from this.

Else, mud fixes all
Thirian24
Visit this Community
Oklahoma, United States
Joined: September 30, 2015
KitMaker: 2,492 posts
Armorama: 2,343 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 02:16 AM UTC
Very nice work!

I wish I had time to start on my kit.

Keep up the great work fellas.
deerstalker36
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: May 16, 2010
KitMaker: 208 posts
Armorama: 194 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 04:26 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Nice work so far Colin. You have the Drive sprockets facing the same way in the pic, but yes, even when you flip one over, one track will be backward. Try heating the track in hot water or carefully applied heat from a hair dryer and tease the links into place to the correct shape and aspect. It may take a while, take it slow and you may recover from this.

Else, mud fixes all



I'll try the hair dryer, as they're individual links there will probs be some play in the joints. (luckily the top run isnt glued on yet)
I was going for an Iraqi one so dust and sand rather than mud lol
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2005
KitMaker: 2,954 posts
Armorama: 2,773 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 04:37 PM UTC
If the top run is okay, but the lower one is not, there is always something like this:
deerstalker36
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: May 16, 2010
KitMaker: 208 posts
Armorama: 194 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 04:39 PM UTC
nice idea Pete, covers a multitude of sins
canismalus
#465
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Joined: September 12, 2014
KitMaker: 392 posts
Armorama: 390 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 15, 2017 - 07:32 PM UTC
Tat, Angel, Stefano, Geoff and Colin (I haven't had time to post in a while!) - those are some fine-looking builds. That ZSU looks pretty labor-intensive - nice progress on that, Colin.

Here's another idea if you want to hide the bottom track run and do an abandoned/wrecked vehicle - this is an abandoned North Vietnamese ZSU after the Battle of An Lộc in '72:



Status report: my Gepard has had its base coat for a month or two while I've turned my attention to other builds, in the next couple of weeks, I'll get some pictures up.

Jerry
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 04:54 AM UTC
Ok going to try posting a photo as I have heard some horror stories about my old site Photobucket
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzQsrWD6HaFnSlpKZUpnRnRSNG8/view?usp=drivesdk
Here goes nothing
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 04:56 AM UTC
Ok not quite what I am looking for maybe y'all can help I am trying to post photos from my phone any input
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2005
KitMaker: 2,954 posts
Armorama: 2,773 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 01:51 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Ok not quite what I am looking for maybe y'all can help I am trying to post photos from my phone any input



Hi Ronnie

You need to use the img tags and then embed your url between them. In the dark grey strip under the message box you will find a series of buttons use the one at the end. That will create a set of picture posting tags. Place your URL between the ]in the first tag, and the[ in the last tag . it should look like this without spaces:

[ i m g ] Your URL [/ i m g ]

Then your pic will come up on screen

If you can't see the tags button on your phone, you can still type the tags conventionally

Here it is for everyone else to view


It is looking good by the way
spongya
Staff MemberAssociate Editor
MODELGEEK
Visit this Community
Budapest, Hungary
Joined: February 01, 2005
KitMaker: 2,322 posts
Armorama: 1,669 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 03:05 PM UTC
I can finally take part in the campaign due to an impulse buy in the LHS... the Takom Turtle.

bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 03:29 PM UTC
Trying again
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzQsrWD6HaFndDhzNGlINTIwTm8/view?usp=drivesdk
Here goes
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 03:30 PM UTC
Still not working and I am just to dumb to figure that url way I can not see anything like it on my phone
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2005
KitMaker: 2,954 posts
Armorama: 2,773 posts
Posted: Monday, August 21, 2017 - 11:33 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Still not working and I am just to dumb to figure that url way I can not see anything like it on my phone



Then you just type the tag using your phone's keypad characters. The square bracket character will be in the phone's character options. Type (without spaces - I have to put spaces in so you can see the text)

[ i m g ]

then paste your image's URL
then type

[/ i m g ]

make sure you have the forward slash in the second one
brekinapez
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: July 26, 2013
KitMaker: 2,148 posts
Armorama: 1,762 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:01 AM UTC
Make sure you put both the opening and closing operations (the img and /img) or it will mess up your post.
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:28 AM UTC
Ok I will try I just didn't know that I had to be a computer programmer for this lol
ClaytonFromEllijay
#454
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: July 10, 2016
KitMaker: 1,273 posts
Armorama: 1,138 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 12:55 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Ok I will try I just didn't know that I had to be a computer programmer for this lol



It seems awkward at first, but if a neo-luddite like myself can do it, anyone can
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 03:42 AM UTC
One more test and if it doesn't work I will go back to old way

Ok here goes
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 04:06 AM UTC
So sorry for not posting more build photos but here is where I am at.






The base is from MiniArt and this will be my first diorama build as well. Hopefully y'all enjoyed.
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Tuesday, August 22, 2017 - 04:08 AM UTC
That is why I have not posted much
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 05:41 AM UTC
going to try posting photo again WITHOUT cell phone


if this does not work I guess I will pull out my hair
JSSVIII
Visit this Community
Massachusetts, United States
Joined: March 28, 2007
KitMaker: 1,169 posts
Armorama: 1,067 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 06:35 AM UTC
Hi Ronnie, looks like youv'e been struck by the Photobucket blackout like the rest of us! Don't give up, Open an Imgur account. I'm pretty much a computer illiterate, and once I got the hang of it it's pretty easy. You got it right, PB just won't let you post pics anymore unless you pay the $400 fee. Imgur is really simple without all the annoying ads.
petbat
Visit this Community
Queensland, Australia
Joined: August 06, 2005
KitMaker: 2,954 posts
Armorama: 2,773 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 08:13 AM UTC
Hi Ronnie

It looks like you did everything perfect 'cause we can see the PB outward facing version of their message that really says 'I want to scam you for every cent you own'.

So yep, upload the pics elsewhere. I use Imgur too. Go to this site to upload your pics.

http://imgur.com/

On the top of the page is a big green button that says 'New Post" push that, then follow your nose to select the pic to upload like you would normally do. Wait for the pic to upload (it will have a percentage meter on screen, when the 100% disappears you are right to go)and just copy the full URL name in the box on screen. Use that URL in your post here. You should be right from there.
ClaytonFromEllijay
#454
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: July 10, 2016
KitMaker: 1,273 posts
Armorama: 1,138 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 08:42 PM UTC
Finally time for my Mark I Male to see the light of day...
bulldawg380
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: August 19, 2009
KitMaker: 347 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Friday, August 25, 2017 - 09:54 PM UTC
Ok so different now with imgur so Another test

here goes again