login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

User Support
Having a problem with the site? Post it here.
Adding pictures to your posts
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Friday, June 20, 2008 - 04:18 PM GMT+7
I have seen a large number of posts with red X's or pleas on how do I attach a photo to my post. as it is very hard to explain this process in words alone I have made the following post here to aid you in attaching pictures to posts and placing them in your KitMaker gallery , I hope that this explains the process clearly.

In order to display pictures in your posts you first need to upload them to your gallery, the gallery is provided by the KitMaker network when you register an account on one of the KitMaker sites.



At the top of every page you will see a tab called Photos, select this tab to be taken to the KitMaker gallery area.



You now need to login into the gallery, select login.



Using the same user and password details that you use to sign into your KitMaker site of choice.



First select "MY PHOTOS" to view any pictures you have already uploaded. Then select "UPLOAD PHOTOS" to add pictures to your gallery. An important note about the material you are submitting to your gallery, the images should not exceed 800X600 pixels.




After selecting upload photos you will be presented with this page, select browse and seek out the picture or pictures you wish to upload to the gallery. Then scroll down to the bottom of that page, making sure your site name is in the relevant square, you can also speed the upload process up by ticking “click here to bypass approval process and upload all files in directory”. Then select “upload/submit”



You should now be looking a page laid out as above, select the picture that you wish to attach to a post.



This will open the selected image up to its display size.



You need to then right click on the selected image, this will open a menu at the bottom of which is properties.



This will open a new window titled “Element Properties” (Element properties is specific to FireFox browser users, Internet Explorer and other browsers use differant terms) the area of this page you will be interested in is “Location”, holding down the right button of your mouse drag the curser on the screen over the location, making sure to highlight the full address as it may not be fully displayed in the window.



Right click within the highlighted area, then from the drop down menu that appears select “Copy” this will copy the address of the image to your computers clip board.



Now go to the forum post you wish to start or answer, and that needs to include the image from your gallery. Either start your new thread or select reply from the various locations on the page in question.



You are now presented with the area where you post your article or reply, at the desired point that you wish to include your image select "[lmg]" from the selection below the text area. This will place a command line in your post in the text desired area of the screen.



You then highlight the area indicated in the above picture, holding down the right button of your mouse drag the curser on the screen over the indicated portion “highlighting it”



You now right click in the highlighted area, and from the drop down menu select “Paste”, this will paste the information you placed on your clipboard earlier in to that highlighted area.

You now finish your post as normal by selecting “Ready to Reply Yes”, your selected image or images will now be displayed in the thread or reply.
JPTRR
Staff MemberManaging Editor
RAILROAD MODELING
#051
Visit this Community
Tennessee, United States
Joined: December 21, 2002
KitMaker: 6,954 posts
Armorama: 2,113 posts
Posted: Friday, June 20, 2008 - 06:34 PM GMT+7
Darren,

Outstanding! Jim ought to field-promote you two ranks!
Grumpyoldman
Staff MemberConsigliere
KITMAKER NETWORK
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Joined: October 17, 2003
KitMaker: 15,307 posts
Armorama: 7,281 posts
Posted: Friday, June 20, 2008 - 08:57 PM GMT+7
Darren,
Nice step by step.

Hopefully it will become a sticky.
Henk
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: August 07, 2004
KitMaker: 6,391 posts
Armorama: 4,258 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 21, 2008 - 10:50 AM GMT+7

Quoted Text

Hopefully it will become a sticky.



Done..
JimMrr
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: January 03, 2007
KitMaker: 1,505 posts
Armorama: 382 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 08:33 PM GMT+7
what in tarnation is a sticky?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 09:51 PM GMT+7
A sticky is a post that stays at the top of the forum it is in.
Pyromaniac
Visit this Community
England - South East, United Kingdom
Joined: January 10, 2009
KitMaker: 375 posts
Armorama: 362 posts
Posted: Monday, January 12, 2009 - 12:55 PM GMT+7
thankyou sooooooooooo much.
fandangoes
Visit this Community
England - East Anglia, United Kingdom
Joined: November 29, 2007
KitMaker: 68 posts
Armorama: 22 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 03:33 PM GMT+7
Thankyou this was very helpful Just followed as instructed and works fine.
It all seems very daunting when if like me computers just confuse, but just take your time .
and do it in stages ,slowly slowly catchy monkey. it did take me a few trys but got there.

CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Saturday, February 21, 2009 - 06:34 PM GMT+7
Your welcome.
DT61
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 18, 2005
KitMaker: 1,222 posts
Armorama: 816 posts
Posted: Sunday, February 22, 2009 - 05:31 PM GMT+7
i should have read this before i posted lol.

Darryl
dioman13
Visit this Community
Indiana, United States
Joined: August 19, 2007
KitMaker: 2,086 posts
Armorama: 1,397 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 07, 2009 - 11:24 AM GMT+7
Darren, I thank you very much for the time and effort to compile the info for pic's problems. Copied the 10 pages into my pic bible and will attempt this afternoon. Hopefully I'll get results and be able to really join in with the rest of the modeling family. Thanks again.
majjanelson
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
Joined: December 14, 2006
KitMaker: 1,317 posts
Armorama: 959 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 07, 2009 - 12:45 PM GMT+7
Darren,

Excellent DIY!

The only item I can think to add is that for images already on the web, users can right click the image on a web page to get its properties and therefore its "address" as you have described to add in their reply. Same method, just not adding it to their Kitmaker image gallery. Of course, the "link" will get broken if something happens to the souce webpage.
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 07, 2009 - 05:18 PM GMT+7
Bob I am glad it helped you. Jeff I had not considered that but I am going to add how to remove images from the gallery here as a few people have asked.
milvehfan
Visit this Community
North Carolina, United States
Joined: June 26, 2007
KitMaker: 2,098 posts
Armorama: 1,075 posts
Posted: Sunday, April 12, 2009 - 07:13 PM GMT+7
Darren, thanks for answering this Question, I am going to give it a try. Like some others here, I have yet to move on into the Electronics/Computer age. Keep On Modelin, milvehfan
Thien_SaoDo
Visit this Community
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Joined: March 11, 2009
KitMaker: 3 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Wednesday, May 27, 2009 - 01:27 PM GMT+7
Thank U very much.
beans1989
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 15, 2009
KitMaker: 32 posts
Armorama: 0 posts
Posted: Thursday, March 18, 2010 - 08:00 PM GMT+7
thnx for the pictures on how to do so ive been trying to figure it out since i joined up about 5 months ago
krow113
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: March 16, 2010
KitMaker: 430 posts
Armorama: 48 posts
Posted: Friday, April 09, 2010 - 02:04 PM GMT+7
Hi I am still having truoble seeing pix on here ,I get a message saying Gallery in repair or the like .Is this the case?
vonHengest
Visit this Community
Texas, United States
Joined: June 29, 2010
KitMaker: 5,854 posts
Armorama: 4,817 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 06, 2010 - 06:27 PM GMT+7
Much thanks for the pictorial tutorial. I had no idea how to use the KitMaker Gallery until I read this
squidgy
#144
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Joined: February 18, 2005
KitMaker: 265 posts
Armorama: 110 posts
Posted: Monday, July 19, 2010 - 01:25 PM GMT+7
thanks mate worked like a charm

fyi for mac (safari)

right click on picture and select "copy image address"

then type your text and click "img" and past the address in between the [img} box's



and away you go
Buckeye198
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
Joined: May 02, 2010
KitMaker: 510 posts
Armorama: 239 posts
Posted: Friday, August 13, 2010 - 11:37 PM GMT+7
Thank you for the very clear directions, but I have been getting this one particularly annoying error message every bleeping time I try to upload. It pretends to work for a few minutes, then stops and displays "The category you chose for this photo can't contain photos." What category are they talking about?!? I am on another photo FAQ forum here and someone told me to limit my image size to under 3 MB, which I did. What is the problem here??
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Friday, August 13, 2010 - 11:58 PM GMT+7
Robby the pictures you upload here due to the limited space you get should not exceed about 200 kb, at 3 mb you will only get 3 and a bit pictures uploaded. are you trying to place pictures into your own gallery when you get this message?
Buckeye198
Visit this Community
Ohio, United States
Joined: May 02, 2010
KitMaker: 510 posts
Armorama: 239 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 14, 2010 - 12:05 AM GMT+7
Yes I am trying to upload them into my member gallery. Should I be going elsewhere?
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
#406
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,044 posts
Armorama: 7,996 posts
Posted: Saturday, August 14, 2010 - 10:19 AM GMT+7
If you are signed in and it is your own gallery space I can only advise you contact Jim S ref the issue you are suffering. I suspect your pictures are just to large and the gallery is rejecting them.
rebelsoldier
Visit this Community
Arizona, United States
Joined: June 30, 2004
KitMaker: 1,331 posts
Armorama: 755 posts
Posted: Friday, January 14, 2011 - 02:57 PM GMT+7


this is a test
Maeusemelker
Visit this Community
England - North West, United Kingdom
Joined: January 10, 2011
KitMaker: 122 posts
Armorama: 113 posts
Posted: Saturday, January 15, 2011 - 09:56 AM GMT+7
For those of you struggling to find 'properties' in the pop-up menu, like I just did: in newer versions of Firefox select 'copy image location' in the menu - does the same thing.