login   |    register
DIORAMATERIALS (ITALY) [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEBSITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

In-Box Review
Natural Groundwork Materials

by: Alguhan Akşar [ WAMPUM ]


Originally published on:
Historicus Forma

introduction

Dioramaterials is an Italian company owned by Marco Ganghini producing different and interesting natural groundwork materials. The materials come in very well packaging, easy to use for several times on your groundworks of your vignettes, dioramas and single figure presentations. The materials can be combined together so that you can catch some assorted natural addings to your works.

product info

  • Groove

    It comes in a transparent plastic rigid box just like the boxes used in food delivery. You find 4 balls of them in the box. They can be used as in groups as well as single branches. They can be combined with foliage for making bushes or leafy trees. Costs 6 shipping a box of grooves. (Photos 1-2-3-4)

  • Shrubs

    Packaging is the same like the groove. It can be used for making long or short shrub groups as they are in assorted heights. It can also be combined with foliage and/or leaves for obtaining camouflage of tank, gun or even a sniper. Costs 4 shipping a box. (Photos 5-6-7)

  • Foliage

    It comes in a plastic bag and looks like grinded death green leaves. It has numerous applications by combining with other natural materials. Costs 3 shipping a bag. (Photos 8-9-10)

  • Leaves

    It comes in a small plastic zip-bag. Look like dead autumn leaves and can be used in combination with tree or bush making materials and as well as on the ground. I am not sure but it seems that this material is not just a dried material but also it is treated with some preservation solution like glycerine. Costs 4 shipping a bag. (Photos 11-12-13)

  • Realgrass

    This one is real grass but with very fine fibres. Very well cleaned up. Can be used for imitations of grass and straw. I think can be used in any scale. You can adjust the hight by cutting it so looks like it can be used in small scales too. Costs 4 shipping a bag. (Photos 14-15-16)

  • Flowers

    I might say that these are great looking, hard to find natural flowers for our ground works. White colored small flowers fit to scales between 1/35 and 90 mm. Comes in a transparent small box and they are almost a dozen. Costs 4 shipping so that I wont reccomend it for making big gardens but can be really a very nice touch to add them on your groundworks and even on your figures. (Photos 17-18-19)

    conclusion

    If you are a city guy like me these materials are just a treasure for you. They are clean, well packaged that can be used on further ground work projects easily. Possibility of combining them also with other products gives you chance to make different groundwork touchs. Can be used in different scales between 1/35 and 90 mm. They can be painted for achieving different aspects of nature. All of them natural materials and this is I think the most important point, they look real!

  • SUMMARY
    Natural Groundwork materials from Dioramaterials-Italy. They can be used to give a realistic look to your figure bases, vignettes and dioramas.
    Percentage Rating
    95%
      Scale: Other
      Related Link: 
      PUBLISHED: Nov 16, 2006
    NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
      THIS REVIEWER: 85.07%
      MAKER/PUBLISHER: 95.00%

    Photos
    Click image to enlarge
    • ot008
    • ot009
    • ot010
    • ot011
    • ot012
    • ot013
    • ot014
    • ot015
    • ot016
    • ot017
    • ot018
    • ot019
    About Alguhan Akşar (wampum)
    FROM: TEKIRDAG, TURKEY / TRKE

    Born in 1973, Istanbul.I'm married and I have two lovely sons. As a son of a modeller I've built many aircraft models when I was just a little kid. Then by my father's suggestions I've built some sailing ships in large scales. Later my favorites were 1/35 dioramas, mostly WW2 German till I met the ...

    Copyright 2019 text by Alguhan Akşar [ WAMPUM ]. All rights reserved.



    Comments

    Excellent review Alguhan ! Rudi
    NOV 15, 2006 - 07:37 PM
    Thanks Rudi and Engin.. I must underline that mr. Marco Ganghini, the owner of Dioramaterials, is a nice person to make bussiness. I want to thank to him from here for his kindness.
    NOV 16, 2006 - 01:31 PM
    Hello Alguhan Could you please tell me how the Dioramaterials Real Grass product compares to the grass products of Woodland Scenics? TIA John
    APR 04, 2008 - 01:51 AM
    Sure John, First of all if I am not wrong the WS grass are the kind we call static grass. Dioramaterials' real grass is real! I mean natural. It looks like the grass cutted out but it is much more finer. It looks very natural but you can not settle them vertically as the static grass. Hope this answered your question. Algu
    APR 04, 2008 - 05:57 AM
       

    What's Your Opinion?


    Photos
    Click image to enlarge
    • ot001
    • ot002
    • ot003
    • ot004
    • ot005
    • ot006
    • ot007