login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Dragon Models [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

Built Review
Video Review included
135
StuG III Ausf. E
Dragon 6688 StuG III Ausf. E
  • move

by: Adam Mann [ MANNLOON ]

SUMMARY
Highs: Some great parts and high fidelity of molding.
Lows: Way too much filling and altering the parts, cost cutting on PE parts.
Verdict: It can make a beautiful model, but it's not an easy build as you're just altering parts to match the instructions.
Percentage Rating
65%
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: 6688
  PUBLISHED: Jan 31, 2017
  NATIONALITY: Germany
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 78.00%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 86.39%

Our Thanks to Dragon USA!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.
View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

About Adam Mann (Mannloon)
FROM: WISCONSIN, UNITED STATES

I am a professional video game artist specializing in hard surface modeling and PBR texturing. I started making armor models a few years ago and have been trying since to translate my digital skills to paint and plastic, which isn't always easy. My specialty is German Armor in 1/35.

Copyright 2017 text by Adam Mann [ MANNLOON ]. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

Thanks for great review
JAN 31, 2017 - 01:51 PM
Good to here an honest assessment .Something quite rare these days .Well done Adam
JAN 31, 2017 - 06:51 PM
For something like this a little foresight could have gone a long way. Rather than having you fill all kinds of holes, most companies just have alternative places to drill holes. That's easier, won't destroy molded detail and shows the maker has the modeler in mind when designing the thing. Don't get me wrong, this is nothing new with Dragon. They've been doing this since the imperial series. But with 100% their own molds there is no excuse anymore especially for the price point they are asking. Sure I can get it cheaper by looking around, but for what they are doing should they really be asking for it in the first place? Or have all those cheap subsidized loans from the Chinese government all coming due and they have to show more profit and lower costs?
JAN 31, 2017 - 07:12 PM
Thanks Adam for a fair and honest revue. DML had this coming, alas I don't see them taking any notice if previous experience is anything to go by. For any unfortunate who is in the process of building this kit, it may be better to try filling the holes in the track guards (fenders) with stretched sprue. The technique is old school, but by heating up good quality sprue(DML, Tamiya)over a candle until floppy, you can then pull it out to the required OD. Force it into the hole then trim the ends This should remove the filling and sanding. I can't suggest anything for the big square holes, unless anyone has some square section sprue or plastic strip around.
JAN 31, 2017 - 11:35 PM
If you don't follow the instructions correctly or in "order" , you will have fit issues. Dry fitting also comes into mind. Patience. Adam admits making mistakes....we all do. I would not give up Dragon's detail for Bronco's so so detail. After building several Dragon Stug III's , PZ III's...you know where to pay attention too...the fit at the fenders & chassis. I've built several Bronco kits as well...I know what to expect..I prefer Dragon any day concerning Stug's. I find myself liking the DS tracks but that's only because I'm pressed for time lately. lol Good review Adam.
FEB 01, 2017 - 01:15 AM
Good to know that the Bronco offering is the better choice for an "E". I'm guessing tat the same applies for the "D" as I'm interested in Bronco's Africa Korp version in particular. Dragon appears to be sitting on its laurels and had better get with it if it wants to keep us enthralled!
FEB 01, 2017 - 06:18 AM
Thank you, and I completely agree with you. At the end of the day I'd still have the Dragon over the Bronco.
FEB 02, 2017 - 05:24 AM
Reluctantly I'd have to agree, its just that I resent what they offer that needs surgery simply because of their cookie-cutter approach to sprues. A bit of this, one of those, two of those, etc. Then cut here. Considering the CRAZY prices of new releases I'd expect more. Ya, I know: "whine whine whine" and why not?
FEB 02, 2017 - 11:29 AM
Seems pretty bush league. What are they, the Maquette of the 2000s? I like Dragon but their releases over the past few years are pretty half-hearted. Not that I need more Stugs heh heh!
FEB 05, 2017 - 12:54 PM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   

What's Your Opinion?