login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Rye Field Model [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

First Look Review
Video Review included
135
M1A1/A2 Abrams w/ Interior
M1A1/A2 Abrams Main Battle Tank w/ Full Interior - 2 in 1
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]

SUMMARY
Jim gives us a preview of this new Abrams with full interior from Rye Field Model in 1/35 scale.
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: RM-5007
  PUBLISHED: Oct 14, 2016
  NATIONALITY: United States
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.83%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 87.67%

Our Thanks to Rye Field Model!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.
View Vendor Homepage  More Reviews  

Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: CALIFORNIA, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright ©2017 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

Very good comparison, I hope to see it finished. Leaning towards the Meng kit right now.
OCT 17, 2016 - 02:41 AM
Just received mine yesterday. The box is dimension wise about the same as a Tamiya et.al kit but about twice is thick.
OCT 18, 2016 - 10:59 PM
Great review Jim. Thank you or putting this together!
OCT 21, 2016 - 02:02 AM
I just opened mine yesterday. It is my first Rye Field (where did they ever come up with that name?) kit and I am not disappointed. The molding is very well done with an excellent level of detail. Very crisp and the anti-slip texture is very nice - not over done. I went ahead and bit the bullet ordering the Meng and new Academy kit as well. Jim thanks for the "look see" and the photos!
OCT 21, 2016 - 11:32 PM
A couple of notes on the instructions. These were identified in this thread by "CowboyfromHell". The two following pics were received from Rye Field Models. It was noticed that there is no step 26 in the instructions. Here is the deleted step. Also, the instructions show a gunshield for the TC's .50 cal for the M1A2, part J13. The issue is there is no J13 in the kit. Also, the gunshield should not be used on an early version M1A2 as depicted in the kit. Here is the corrected step deleting part J13 and the mount for it, E70. These should clear up some issues w/the instructions.
OCT 22, 2016 - 02:06 AM
It's in-stock at Luckymodel for $73 and free shipping.. good deal Hisham
OCT 23, 2016 - 11:47 PM
Some more updates to the instructions from the Rye Field Models Facebook page. The following was also posted there: "Apology for defective instruction of 5006 and 5007: First of all, we are really appreciate your support and concern for all of you. Today, we are very sorry to inform everyone that there were some mistake that found in both RM-5006 M1A1 Gulf War 1991 and RM-5007 M1A1/M1A2 Full Interiorís instruction. Please refer the corrected pictures. We really sorry for the inconvenience and apologies for such a mistake. As a manufacturer , we have a responsibility to take care of every single detail for producing the best model kits with zero-mistake to all of modelers who support us. But unfortunately, for some reason, we are not good enough in this stage, we make some unnecessary mistakes that may caused your inconvenience and displeased. We would like to sincerely apologize to you for any inconvenience this may have caused. We will continue to work hard, making the better and high quality model kits is always our mission and goal. We hope that still could have your support and concern! We are also looking forward to seeing and sharing your works! Thank you very much for all of you!" It is great that they acknowledge their mistakes and provide corrections to them. Some other model companies should take note and do the same.
OCT 27, 2016 - 12:59 AM
To those that have this kit, do you recommend it or should we wait to see if Meng or someone else comes out with an interior for the M1. Luckymodel just raised their price to $75.00 for this kit. Mike
OCT 29, 2016 - 06:15 AM
I just finished the interior, and I recommend the kit. You need to pay close attention to fitting for some parts, but overall it's a fairly easy build with lots of details. Meng might come up with better kit in near future, but I'm pretty much satisfied with this one.
OCT 29, 2016 - 06:48 AM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   

What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move